Hello! Project

C-ute’s PVs for double A-side Adam to Eve no Dilemma / Kanashiki Ame Furi

Hello! Project has been on a total double A-side kick for all of its major groups (with the exception of the fledgling Juice=Juice).  Between Momusu, Berryz, S/mileage and C-ute, there has been a huge influx of A-side, PV material in the past few months.  It’s very cool to have Hello! Project releasing so much material, and most of it decent to boot- although Berryz and C-ute are typically not my cup of tea, I have found at least some likeability in these latest releases for both.   Today, I’m taking a look C-ute’s newly released Adam to Eve no Dilemma and Kanashiki Ame Furi.  You can check out the PVs for Adam to Eve and Kanashiki Ame Furi on their official youtube channel!

Seems to be a trend in H!P PVs, to open with a shot of the girls somehow rubbing up against each other.  :}

Seems to be a trend in recent H!P PVs, to open with a shot of the girls somehow rubbing up against each other. :}

C-ute is a group that really puzzles me sometimes…  They are extremely high in talent, with some of the best singers and dancers in all of Hello! Project within their ranks.  The girls are all likeable to an extent, although their personalities don’t jump out at you as much as they do in H!P’s other groups, like Morning Musume, Berryz or S/mileage.  But somehow their material just doesn’t click with me most of the time.  I can’t really blame the girls, it isn’t them, it’s just most of their songs are so forgettable that I honestly couldn’t remember the tunes to them if I tried ( for instance, I am right now trying to remember what Campus Life or Momoiro Sparkling sounded like right now and I am failing miserably).  Adam to Eve no Dilemma and Kanashiki Ame Furi are a step in the right direction for me, not enough to make me a consistent fan, though.

I don't find her cute at all, but girl can SING!

I don’t find her cute at all, but girl can SING!

C-ute’s Adam to Eve is the better of the two tracks for me.  I like the sound of it, the refrain is pretty catchy.  Line distribution is mostly even, but Chisato stands out as the best in this song.  She’s really not one of my favorite H!P members, but boy does she have an amazing voice.  Nobody else really sounds like her, so it’s refreshing to hear her, and her lines sound great.

Airi, not doing anything special, but she's always lovely.

Airi, not doing anything special, but she’s always lovely.

Airi, surprisingly, doesn’t stand out as much as usual to me in this song, or even the video, really.  She’s one of my favorite H!P girls, so that’s different for me.  I suppose she’s had plenty of time for her spotlight in prior C-ute songs (wasn’t there one where she sang like the whole thing?  I couldn’t tell you what that one’s tune sounded like either…).

This hairstyle is definitely flattering for her face.  Maimi looked much prettier in this one than she did in Kanashiki Ame Furi.

This hairstyle is definitely flattering for her face. Maimi looked much prettier in this one than she did in Kanashiki Ame Furi.

Maimi, as usual, didn’t stand out to me especially – but she’s hovering right at the bottom of my H!P ranking, so nothing new there.  I actually don’t have anything bad to say about her performance, or even vocals.  I do like her hair better when it’s up like this, too… She just doesn’t attract my attention.

When did Nakky get so pretty?

When did Nakky get so pretty?

Surprisingly, Saki really does, though.  Nakky looks drop dead gorgeous in this PV, every shot of her I was taken aback by how cute and beautiful she looked.  I’m usually not a fan of her looks too much, so this is a pleasant surprise.  Some people complain about her vocals, I’m one of the ones who has never disliked her voice anyway, so I had no issue with her lines either.  Adam to Eve was a very positive showing for her.  I found myself staring at her above everyone else in the group for this PV.

Mai is cute too, but seems to be the underdog of the group for many people.  I like her decently enough.

Mai is cute too, but seems to be the underdog of the group for many people. I like her decently enough.

Maimai, although she has dropped in my H!P rankings over the recent years, does well in this PV too.  I’ve always liked her voice, and she looks decent.  She’s not forgettable like Maimi, but not a standout like Saki.  She looks and sounds nice enough.

Saki just catches my eye most here.

Saki just catches my eye most here.

The PV lacks a story line, but is never boring, as it switches up between shot of the girls close up amongst chains, to dance shots, to shot of them on sheets (with apples…). I love the outfits for some reason.  The color is fabulous and they bounce around oh so wonderfully with the dance.  Shiny, possibly cheap aqua things, but I like ’em.  Go figure.

Shiny frills flying all over the place!  I love it!

Shiny frills flying all over the place! I love it!

Overall, Adam to Eve isn’t going to be a favorite of my releases this year, but it’s still good enough to warrant going on a playlist, which is better than I give many of this groups’ songs.  I don’t like it as much as some of their songs that I have just outright loved (see:  Kiss Me Aishiteru, Edo no Temari Uta II, Tokaikko Junjou, Massara Blue Jeans), but it’s pretty good.

Absolutely love the panel shots they do throughout this PV.  Creativity at last!

Absolutely love the panel shots they do throughout this PV. Creativity at last!

Then we have Kanashiki Ame Furi, which as a song, sums up about how I feel about C-ute’s material in general:  Inoffensive, but bland and forgettable.  The song just isn’t pleasant to my ears, and that’s no slight to the girls.  Their vocals are decent enough.  It’s the tune itself, I just don’t like it very much.  To like this song, I’d have to dissect it and reconstruct it entirely.

And here we have some cheesy lyrics...

And here we have some cheesy lyrics…

I don’t hate it.  But I don’t care for it much and it won’t be something I want to listen to in the future.  Kind of a shame, in a way, because the PV is very good, and the dance is bad ass. I thought all the girls looked really nice here, and nobody really stood out as being bad.  Mai was better than in Adam to Eve, Airi was better too.  Maimi had a more central role, which I don’t care for, but that wasn’t the problem with this song.  The song was the problem.

The scene changes throughout the PV kept it interesting.

The scene changes throughout the PV kept it interesting.  Also, Mai looked great in this one.

The PV, on the other hand, was not the problem.  It’s one of the more creative ventures they’ve done.  The fact that they actually took the time with this PV to make it interesting, with multi-panel shots, multiple locations, cuts between takes of the dance shot in different outfits, and scenes in the rain tying into the lyrics.  This was a great PV!  Whyyyyyy does it have to be on a song that just doesn’t do it for me?

Why?  Sigh....

Why? Sigh….

Can’t win ’em all!  But I will say that C-ute leaves me with a more positive impression after these releases, even if the song for Kanashiki Ame Furi doesn’t click with me.  These girls are talented and Hello! Project has come out with a good PV, these are all good things.  They’ll never be my favorite Hello! Project group, but these releases should get them a positive response.

–Jess

3 thoughts on “C-ute’s PVs for double A-side Adam to Eve no Dilemma / Kanashiki Ame Furi

  1. “But somehow their material just doesn’t click with me most of the time.” Indeed I could agree with that, their material in the last few years hasn’t been attention grabbing so much. Even so, I am really impressed with the single. The last one was Aitai Aitai Aitai na and before that? Years ago…

  2. Pingback: Recommended Reading: June 22nd, 2013 | Idolminded

Leave a Reply

