Hello! Project / Jpop / S/mileage

PV for S/mileage’s Atarashii Watashi ni Nare has been released!

The new PV for Atarashii Watashi ni Nare, the other A-side to the next S/mileage single, is now out, and once again, the song is good!  Anyone else feel like Hello! Project has released more good material than usual lately?  Between all the Morning Musume singles I’ve liked, the Juice=Juice singles, and a S/mileage double A-side that mops the floor with everything else they’ve put out in the past year, I’m actually quite impressed.  As you may remember, PV to the other A-side to this single, Yattaru-chan, was released recently and made me fall back in love with a group I had given up hope on.  Now the other A-side’s PV is out, and I am delighted with this song as well!

The new them looks a lot like the old them, but with fewer colors and more upskirt shots.

The new them looks a lot like the old them, but with fewer colors and more upskirt shots.

Atarashii Watashi ni Nare, “Be the Real Me”, is another great track from S/mileage.  They must be really trying to win me people back or something, because for once, we have a H!P double A-side where BOTH tracks are worthy!  Most of the time I feel like H!P double A-sides are just regular singles with a slightly more promoted B-side…  Think back to One Two Three / The Matenrou Blows, or the recent Brainstorming / Kimi Sae This Song Sucks, and we have a huge improvement here!

Courage to bare more skin!

Even S/mileage themselves are applauding the new material!

Atarashii Watashi is more mature than Yattaru-chan, but still fits the group well, and I feel like the combination of the sillier Yattaru-chan with the more grown up Atarashii Watashi actually works really well for this group, which has some younger members and some members that have grown from girls to beautiful young ladies. Atarashii Watashi ni Nare does have a few little things that raise my eyebrows a bit because of that age gap, image-wise, but as a song, it’s great.

Akari seemed particularly good at the poses... ._.

Akari seemed particularly good at the poses… ._.

Let’s address the only problems I have here, and forgive me if I ramble a bit while I try to get my thoughts in line…  The image.  It’s weird, because they have been in much more revealing outfits than these, but something about the slutting up of a suit makes it look more sexy than some of the other outfits they have worn that cover much less. It’s just a bare midriff, that’s nothing new in the world of Hello! Project, but something about it with this particular outfit makes it seem like you’re looking at something forbidden, like usually you wouldn’t see that kind of thing in a suit, so seeing it there makes it more risque than if they were just in tube tops or something.

I really think this suits Ayaka well, I'm not even being sarcastic because I don't like her.

I really think this suits Ayaka well, I’m not even being sarcastic because I don’t like her.

I think the sexy image is fine with say, Kanon or Ayaka, who deserve to be allowed to show their hot side, especially  now that they are older.  It actually fits Ayaka much better than the cutesy bit.  It’s a bit unsettling on the really young members, though, like Meimi and Akari, who I feel would have benefited from a slightly less sexed up version of the same costume.  It’s not that they can’t pull off the sexy thing, but rather that they CAN… and they’re like 14.  It’s disturbing a little, even though part of me says we’ve seen those same stomachs a thousand times over, why should it be more wrong now?  I guess it’s all about context.  And dance moves.  Definitely some suggestive dance moves at the beginning.

I dunno, something about Meimi grabbing herself all over and writhing is a bit uncomfortable...

I dunno, something about Meimi grabbing herself all over and writhing is a bit uncomfortable…  I also think I just made this move sound a lot worse than it actually is, so I’ll shut up about it now.

Maybe I would feel less guilty about looking at this if it were just the mature members doing these kind of moves…

They're legal, it's OK.... o_o

I don’t even know what to say, but my jaw dropped, so I guess that says it.

Are you really going there?… Oh…

Yup, that's Kanon, feeling herself up...

Yup, that’s Kanon, feeling herself up…   o_o  She’s over 18, that means I can look, right?

Hot damn.

s'lkdjfjsdj;'sdas

a;lsl’aslsadslfda;lksfdlk;s… !!!!!!

Um, so anyway.

Subtitle captions to the rescue with a subject change!

Subtitle captions to the rescue with a subject change!

S/mileage has certainly put out a PV that can entertain, in certain ways (insert perverted joke of your choice here).  They really could have done a lot more with it, though.  We get a few brief glimpses of the girls not on a plain white background only a handful of times.  With the lyrics of this song, I feel like they really could have done a story line PV, at least a little.  This PV is good to watch the dance, though, and the dance to this song is much stronger than a lot of their other material, so in that aspect it is nice to have a PV where you have nothing to do BUT watch the dance.  Oh, and they hold hand-written signs.  Woo.

After watching this, I think they have quite enough courage already.

After watching this, I think they have quite enough courage already.

The PV is plain and definitely could have been improved, but the song is awesome, and that’s actually my main concern anyway.  It’s a solid track with a less silly sound, but still not too serious, and still fits S/mileage well.  The vocals don’t wow me, but don’t ever cross into ear-bleeding territory either – an improvement for Ayaka!  She has some solo lines in here and she sounds good!  I’m not used to that!  I’ll never be a fan of hers, but if she can annoy me less, I will take that as a very positive thing!

... Except I never get invited to them for some reason.  XD

… Except I never get invited to them for some reason. XD

And while she has gotten slightly less homely than when she first joined, I still can’t deal with boring Rina and her Popeye eyes.

And I hold you close to my heart as well, Meimei.  <3

And I hold you close to my heart as well, Meimei. <3

Meimi, meanwhile, is one of my very favorite members of Hello!Project, having grown extremely well vocally, while maintaining her insanity.  She doesn’t get to show it in this PV the way she does in Yattaru-chan, but she does get featured a good amount, so I’m happy.  I’m sure even the sexy act was all done in good fun.

Nobody can look away from her!

Posin’ and hair shakin’ galore.

Atarashii Watashi had a plain PV aside from the new-for-this-group provocative elements, but it’s good stuff overall, and the song is certainly a good addition to their discography.  Between this one and Yattaru-chan, I am very happy with the direction the group is going, with some slightly more mature material and some goofier material.  It’s a good balance for this group.  I’m very much looking forward to their future releases, with the hopes that they continue along these lines.

–Jess

One thought on “PV for S/mileage’s Atarashii Watashi ni Nare has been released!

  1. I agree completely about pulling off the sexy thing. I made a comment on the PV saying almost the exact same thing; They CAN pull it off, but for the 2nd generation, they SHOULDN’T be pulling them off just yet. And I really did not get what Akari and Kanon were doing until you pointed out she was feeling herself. I just saw that as “Akari is sniffing the hell out of Kanon, I don’t know what kind of sexy move that is…” Also, I kinda agree…as much as I love Rina, she really needs to give more energy, especially in the few solo lines and shots she gets. Meimei is just fantastic; when she was singing the line “Jibun wo kaete ikanakya” and bursting out a dance, I loved that, so much energy XD And I also agree they made this somewhat plain of a PV despite the wonderful song, and the message of the song too is relatable. Anyways, great review, I pretty much agreed with everything when I was reading this, almost like a map out of my thoughts from when I watched the PV XD

Leave a Reply

