Hello! Project

Oda Sakura becomes Morning Musume’s lone 11th generation member!

Well that was fast!

We’d only just gotten some tidbits of audition footage, so recently I hadn’t actually done a post about it yet probably because I have been a blogging delinquent this summer. . But, this morning, lo and behold, the identity of the chosen ‘suppin utahime’ was revealed!

I am not at all displeased that she would turn out to be Oda Sakura, former S/mileage auditioner turned Hello Project Egg (er, kenshuusei, but I hate that term. It reeks of 48).

To be totally honest I never would have thought it would turn out this way. I wasn’t huge on Sakura in her S/mileage audition but girl has come a long way, in dance, vocals, and even looks since becoming part of Hello! Project. Even knowing that, I was delighted to see her audition footage and found that she had gotten even better than I’d originally thought.

Sakura has got the voice. It’s not perfect yet, she needs a pinch more control, but it is quite good even so, and is already much better than most of the current members. She will be invaluable to the group in that aspect – so long as she actually gets to sing, unlike some of the other vocal talents like Mizuki and Haruka.

Sakura’s dance was good, she seemed to pick it up well from what they showed in the footage. I don’t know her well yet, but her personality seems sweet. And then there’s looks…. I liked her better with the longer hair + bangs combo much better than the shorter cut they have given her, but she’s still not a bad looking girl, and will probably become quite cute as she grows up.

So really there are only a few things that disappointed me about this addition:

1. So many fresh and new girls applied, but we basically saw none of them. Almost every finalist was an egg or from NGP. Guess it doesn’t matter since I love who they chose, but still.

2. The audition coverage, or utter lack thereof, was dreadful. Auditions are the lifeblood of Momusu, they should be promoting the hell out of them, bombarding us with footage to give us reason to be on the edge of our seats for the big reveal. Very disappointed in the amount of footage, especially considering how awesome some of the other gens’ footage was.

3. I wanted 2 girls, Sakura and cutie pie Ayano. I loved her. Also, only having one member can put a lot of pressure on her, being only one means she will be scrutinized, although I think she could be amazing, like Maki (hopefully more like that than a travesty like Koharu).

But at the end of the day, I can live with the result, and even love it, because Sakura is a wonderful choice and I think she is going to bring a lot of good to the group. I could certainly stand to hear someone besides reinho at this point.

ーJess

3 thoughts on “Oda Sakura becomes Morning Musume’s lone 11th generation member!

  1. I did not watch a single video or update on the 11th gen auditions. But upon watching Oda Sakura’s video clip of her being accepted into Morning Musume by Tsunku and evaulating her skills, I was impressed. We have to remember this audition was to find a singer not an increase of members. But even I have to agree with some others about it being a 1-nin gen, she has to be pushed then.

    I like her even more after watching the video. She looks so cute and fits so well with the others. She sings really well and her voice changes from low to high, I think her dancing is not so bad either. Someone made a comment that when she imitated Namida Tomarana Houkago, her voice changes from Konno to Miki in the video of her audition time and they were right.

    • Yeah, watching the footage of her afterwards was a confirmation that she’s gonna be amazing <3. She seems very subdued but it usually takes a bit before their personalities come out all the way. Certainly a sweet and nice girl though, with tremendous potential. I'm excited about her!

  2. Pingback: Recommended Reading: September 14th, 2012 | Idolminded

Leave a Reply

