Jpop

Radio Previews for Momoiro Clover Z’s Mite Mite Kocchicchi

I haven’t been keeping up with the news of this single on this blog lately, since I haven’t had much time for blogging at all this past month, but a full preview means it’s definitely time to pay it some attention!

Momoiro Clover Z’s next single, title still undetermined, will contain the track Mite mite Kocchicchi, which you can listen to here.   It is the ending song to the current season of Pokemon.  This has some real advantages, as it grants them a lot of exposure.  I personally am not a fan of the show at all (love the games, but hate the anime), but even I can appreciate that this will bring in some new fans, which is a good thing.  Also, Momoclo dressed up as Pokemon is adorable and hilarious.

I do think this song has a good chance at bringing in some new fans, because it’s instantly catchy and easy to listen to.  That sounds like a good thing, right?  Well…  In a way it is, and in a way it isn’t.  It’s almost too easy to listen to, if that makes any sense.  Momoclo is known for zany, unpredictable tunes, which this really is not.  However, it is cute and catchy, and a likeable song.  It’s just not quite what I expect from them.  When compared to their last tracks on the single Moretsu, this one is really quite tame and even a little boring.

I don’t want to sound like I dislike the song, though – I do like it, and it’s very catchy.   But, the group set the bar very high with their last single of amazingness, and this song isn’t as good as, say, Lost Child.   That’s still not to say it’s bad by any means, I just have a preference for their signature wacky style.  (Edit:  Apparently this song is more of a C-side, and it’s actually better than the C-side DNA Rhapsody, so that eases my mind a bit).

I will be following the single, and for this song, I do like it  – we have an interesting mix of a taunting repeated melody that’s definitely infectious.   Based on that alone, it’s a good listen, and is easy to get in your head.  It’s nothing phenomenal, but it’s enjoyable, and it’s more of the girls that I just can’t get enough of.   It should at least tide me over until Maeyamada gives them their next injection of insanity.  Hopefully that will be on the A-side of this single.

–Jess

One thought on “Radio Previews for Momoiro Clover Z’s Mite Mite Kocchicchi

  1. Pingback: Recommended Reading: May 20th, 2012 | Idolminded

Leave a Reply

