Hello! Project

Morning Musume’s Ren’ai Hunter Is Gonna Be Awesome.

Morning Musume is just one of those groups where, just when I think all hope is lost, they come out with something amazing and make me glad I’ve never stopped following them, no matter how bad it gets sometimes.

After being thoroughly underwhelmed with Pyoko Pyoko Ultra, the song that tried to bring back fun to Momusu but succeeded only in making them look like morons, I was worried.  Maybe Tsunku has forgotten how to write a decent “fun” song, or any song at all, really, since I have had more disappointments than new favorites with Hello! Project lately…

Well, there is now a concert rip (albeit low quality, but beggars can’t be choosers) of Morning Musume’s next single, Ren’ai Hunter,floating around out there on Youtube (Edit:  Much clearer rip here, but act quickly as they’ve been taking all of them down faster than I can update my links). If you’re like me, and couldn’t wait to hear this song just to see if it was any good, you should check it out.  If not, maybe you can wait for something of better quality…  I definitely couldn’t.

I’m glad I didn’t wait, either, because now I’m excited to be excited about this new single!  I had to listen to it 2 or 3 times to feel like I really has a grasp on the song due to the quality, but man oh man… The song is cool, it’s catchy, and even in this, you can tell that the vocals are probably gonna sound amazing, cause they’re pretty good, even in concert.

I’m hearing a lot of Reina and Riho in the rip, also Risa and Sayu.  Seems typical so far, but it’s also hard to tell, I’d love to be surprised with some Kanon, Haruka, or Mizuki vocals, but I can’t be certain just yet.

Ren’ai Hunter is not a childish song, so in that respect it seems Morning Musume has, in a way, gone back to the style they were predominantly doing before Pyoko.  Although I did want Morning Musume to be a more fun group again, I still prefer a good mature song over a poor fun song.

I definitely want to hear a better quality version, but for the time being, I am really satisfied with the song.  I absolutely love it so far, for me it’s certainly the best song to come out of Morning Musume since Otoko to Onna no Lullaby Game.  When a higher quality version is out, who knows, it might even be  better.

I’m ecstatic about this release, because, aside from one member, I really love the line-up of Morning Musume right now and I’m glad that I’ll be able to rally behind them again.  It sure beats scowling at chicken suits, anyway.

–Jess♫

One thought on “Morning Musume’s Ren’ai Hunter Is Gonna Be Awesome.

  1. Pingback: Recommended Reading – February 18th, 2012 | International Wota

Leave a Reply

