Momoiro Clover

More(tsu) news and talk about Momoiro Clover Z’s upcoming single!

Pardon the pun in the post title; I couldn’t resist.

Over the past few weeks more details, previews, and other wonderful tidbits of information have come about concerning Momoiro Clover Z’s new single, Mouretsu Uchuu Koukyoukyoku: Dai Nana Gakusho “Mugen no Ai” Um, let’s just call it Moretsu from here out, OK?

Anyway, said single is set to release 3-7-12, but as of a few weeks ago we had full length previews of the title song (this one has the lyrics & color-coding,  although its done by ear, so it may be off in some parts), and some possible outfit pictures.  Now, we have previews of the B-side, Lost Child, better outfit pictures, and a title for the previously unnamed C-side!


Official pictures have come out, as you can see – Aren’t the outfits awesome?!  I love so much about these – the individual detailing, like Ayaka’s frills, Kanako’s jolly roger hat, the one colored legging on each girl…  All of them look fantastic in these outfits!  The one thing I’m not too crazy about is the clear plastic coat part, but even that doesn’t bug me too much – They’re certainly an improvement from any of the outfits from last single!  These are not quite my favorite outfits – the D’ no Junjou ninja outfits offer some fierce competition there.  However, I still like them a lot.

And for the most exciting news, we have previews for Lost Child!  You can check out the TV-size version of this song on Youtube here!  While you can, at least, because several have been taken down already.  Just do a search for “ももいろクローバーZ Lost Child” if it disappears…  It’s worth looking for.

Lost Child is absolutely amazing.

This song is nothing like anything Momoclo has ever done, and yet, it’s still perfectly them.  The first parts of the verse are computerized and super cool.  Then in the second part, Kanako and her beautifully recognizable voice kicks in, and makes me fall in love with her again.  I actually can’t complain about anyone’s vocals in this one, though – even Ayaka’s line was beautifully executed!  The refrain is in unison, and less unique than the other parts of the song, but still good.

There is a lot to like about this coupling track – I’m a huge Kanako fangirl, so obviously I love that she got a prominent part in this so far.  But the thing that stands out about this track the most for me is the production on it.  NARASAKI brought his A-game to this one, every nuance in the music sounds amazing.  I’ve listened to this over and over again and every time I just want to replay it again, and again…

With Lost Child, I’m looking at a B-side track that’s easily stronger than some of their other A-side material – and that’s not because I don’t like their other A-sides, either!  I do have a slight preference for the title track of Moretsu, though, because it’s got such incredible energy and flair.  I actually liked what Marty Friedman, ex-Megadeth guitarist and featured musician on the title track, had to say about it (credits to his official website and ENTAME magazine):

“…this song is like the “Bohemian Rhapsody” of idol/girl group music. It has all the elements you would never expect in the genre-aside from the 5 girl singers, there is a 100 person choir, odd-time signatures, high speed tempo changes, unusual key modulations, and my guitar over the top of all of it. Actually, if you could imagine a 2 hour long Japan-themed Broadway show fast forwarded and squeezed into 5 and a half minutes, that might describe the song. No question this is my favorite collaboration since I moved to Japan. It`s also the kind of thing you either loathe with a passion, or you love it so much you can`t get enough of it.”

I couldn’t agree with him more on his description.  Needless to say, I fall into the love-it-so-much-I-can’t-get-enough category.

At this point, Moretsu is about thisclose to topping Ikuze’! Kaitou Shoujo for my favorite Momoiro Clover single.  That’s a tough one to do, because as it stands, Ikuze was one of my favorite singles of all time – both A-side and B-side were perfect A+s for me.  Now I’m faced with Moretsu, with it’s absolutely epic and insane title track, and cool, interesting B-side, Lost Child.

I guess it comes down to whether I like the C-side…  Speaking of which, we have a title for the formerly-untitled track!  It is to be titled DNA狂詩曲, pronounced DNA Rhapsody.  You can read more at natalie.mu, here.  Unfortunately there aren’t any previews out for it yet, but I’ll keep my eyes out for it.

After hearing the first 2 tracks I really have no idea what to expect, which is exciting itself!  Until then, at least there’s Youtube!

–Jess♫

5 thoughts on “More(tsu) news and talk about Momoiro Clover Z’s upcoming single!

  1. Pingback: A full review of 5th Dimension by Momoiro Clover Z | Happy! Go! Lucky!

  2. Ditto what Nathan wrote. I want the opening number for a ringtone on my phone.

    I found it hilarious that an ex member of megadeath had a hand in making it. It would be nice to buy the single (yes actually spend money on it), but I can’t begin to figure out how. Guess I’ll have to wait for a broader release.

    NM

  3. Damn it!! The wait for this release is agonizing. I’m not a huge idol group fan but after watching moretsu pirates, I was instantly hooked to the op and ed.

  4. Pingback: Recommended Reading – January 21st, 2012 | International Wota

Leave a Reply

