2NE1 / Kpop

2NE1 releases “HATE YOU”!

2NE1 has released their new digital single and music video to go with it on Youtube – everyone should check out “HATE YOU“!  Apparently it has gone viral, getting millions of views in only a few days.  I gotta say – it’s well deserved!

Hey… This is a MOSTLY Jpop blog…

I like a couple Kpop groups out there, not all of them, but some.  Among my preferred Korean groups are Kara, After School, Girls’ Generation, and 2NE1.  Although, oddly enough, I haven’t really cared for any of those groups’ attempts at releasing Japanese versions of their Korean songs, they sound weird.

Anyway, getting back on topic, 2NE1 has been on a real roll with releasing new stuff.  I had a bit of a love-hate relationship with them for a bit.  I heard them pretty much right when they debuted and fell in love with FIRE immediately.  I think I had it on repeat for like a month…  And the entire mini album was very good, not a bad song on it (I am particularly fond of Pretty Boy).  I loved all 4 girls but thought CL was awesomely badass and Minzy was one of the most gorgeous girls I have ever seen.

I was so excited for them to release more material, but then I was pretty disappointed in a lot of the stuff because they started to auto-tune every single thing they sang.  I thought doing it at times was interesting to listen to.  I stopped liking it when they had entire songs that were done in auto tune…  I mean, I LIKE their voices and want to hear them!

Eventually they did put out some more things I liked though, and even though they still had more auto tune than I would prefer, they were still strong.  Furthermore, their music videos became quite good, telling stories that kept me interested even beyond the song.  It’s rare to see videos like that these days, that took a lot of thought and planning and were well executed.  Go Away did it for me, though, and made me a fan again.

Recently they have been releasing a lot of singles in preparation for their new album coming in September.  I Am The Best was pretty good, but the one that I’m really in love with is their latest, Hate You.

The music video is all animated, in a highly stylized anime type of animation.  The character designs for the 4 girls are awesome and the animation is done very well.  What really drew me in was the story line of the music video, which 2NE1 has been doing very well lately.

Basically the girls are bounty hunters after a guy who set off a bomb.  When they go looking for him, he tries to sneak away, but Dara sees him and follows.  They attack one another, and lock eyes – perhaps they already know each other?  CL comes busting in and the guy flees out the window.  2NE1 proceed to have a car chase with them, attacking with weapons and ramming vehicles.  When they exit the cars to fight face to face… Well you’ll have to watch yourself from there, I don’t want to spoil the ending too much.

The video is awesome, but just as awesome is the song.  It’s simple and repeats the same tunes and such, but in a good way.  The first time I heard it, I thought it was pretty good, but then it has been stuck in my head relentlessly since then and I’ve watched the video and played the song dozens of times.  I hate you, eh eh eh eh eh, I’m fine livin’ without you…   CAN’T STOP PLAYING IT!

I highly recommend Hate You, the song and the video, and I’m so glad that 2NE1 is kicking so much ass!

–Jess♫

Leave a Reply

